The 9th book in the Kitty the Werewolf series, this could be alternately titled Kitty Goes to San Francisco. Had I been one to read cover blurb I would have saved it for my flight there in September. It was nice to have a werewolf guide to the city for part of it, with a lot of the action taking part under the city’s Chinatown.

The story seemed to be over before it started and didn’t have a lot of content. I did like the addition of Chinese myths including the nine tailed fox and Kitty’s search into historical supernaturals but didn’t think there was a lot of ongoing plot or character development from the previous book. It’s sad to see the chemistry has gone between Kitty and Cormac and I’m really not sure about his new personality.

Overall an easy read for anyone already hooked on the series but I wouldn’t recommend it as a standalone novel.

Reading order:
Kitty and the Midnight Hour
#2 Kitty Goes to Washington
#3 Kitty Takes a Holiday
Kitty and the Silver Bullet
#5 Kitty and the Dead Man’s Hand
Kitty Raises Hell
#7 Kitty’s House of Horrors
#8 Kitty Goes to War
#9 Kitty’s Big Trouble

There is also a short story collection due out shortly, Kitty’s Greatest Hits.